EPI Experts

Are you searching for an infectious disease expert to answer questions regarding a particular emerging pathogen? The Emerging Pathogens Institute has many principal investigators who serve as experts in their fields, ranging from research topics like Covid-19, monkeypox, tuberculosis, malaria and influenza. This page provides a handful of experts who cover significant public health problems and common diseases. Other supplemental resources include the EPI Membership Directory and the UF Experts List.

Covid-19, SARS-CoV-2, Coronavirus

Epidemiology

Name Title Email
J. Glenn Morris J. Glenn Morris Director, Emerging Pathogens Institute jgmorris@epi.ufl.edu
Ira M Longini Ira M Longini Professor ilongini@ufl.edu
Cindy A Prins Cindy A Prins Clinical Associate Professor Of Epidemiology capfive@ufl.edu

Virology

Name Title Email
John Lednicky John Lednicky Research Professor jlednicky@phhp.ufl.edu
Marco Salemi Marco Salemi Holloway Professor In Experimental Pathology; EPI Associate Director For Research Initiatives salemi@pathology.ufl.edu

Serological Response

Name Title Email
Derek A Cummings Derek A Cummings Professor; EPI Associate Director For Education And Graduate Programs datc@ufl.edu
Maureen T Long Maureen T Long Professor (Emeritus); EPI Associate Director For Research Resources longm@ufl.edu

Mathematical Modeling

Name Title Email
Ira M Longini Ira M Longini Professor ilongini@ufl.edu
Matt Hitchings Matt Hitchings Assistant Professor mhitchings@ufl.edu

Diarrheal Diseases

Name Title Email
Afsar Ali Afsar Ali Research Associate Professor aali@epi.ufl.edu
Arie Havelaar Arie Havelaar PROF ariehavelaar@ufl.edu
Kwangcheol C Jeong Kwangcheol C Jeong ASO PROF kcjeong@ufl.edu
Stephanie Karst Stephanie Karst Professor skarst@ufl.edu
Anthony T Maurelli Anthony T Maurelli Professor amaurelli@phhp.ufl.edu
J. Glenn Morris J. Glenn Morris Director, Emerging Pathogens Institute jgmorris@epi.ufl.edu
Eric J Nelson Eric J Nelson Associate Professor (tenured) eric.nelson@ufl.edu

Influenza

Name Title Email
John Lednicky John Lednicky Research Professor jlednicky@phhp.ufl.edu
Derek A Cummings Derek A Cummings Professor; EPI Associate Director For Education And Graduate Programs datc@ufl.edu

HIV/AIDS

Name Title Email
Robert L Cook Robert L Cook Professor cookrl@ufl.edu
Marco Salemi Marco Salemi Holloway Professor In Experimental Pathology; EPI Associate Director For Research Initiatives salemi@pathology.ufl.edu

Malaria

Name Title Email
Rhoel Dinglasan Rhoel Dinglasan Professor rdinglasan@epi.ufl.edu
Sadie J Ryan Sadie J Ryan Associate Professor Of Medical Geography sjryan@ufl.edu
Amy Y Vittor Amy Y Vittor Assistant Professor amy.vittor@medicine.ufl.edu

Monkeypox

Name Title Email
Benjamin Anderson Benjamin Anderson Assistant Professor ander88@ufl.edu
Nicole M Iovine Nicole M Iovine Program Director; Clinical Professor & Hospital Epidemiologist nicole.iovine@medicine.ufl.edu
John Lednicky John Lednicky Research Professor jlednicky@phhp.ufl.edu

Non-HIV STIs

Plant Pathology

Tuberculosis

Name Title Email
Michael Lauzardo Michael Lauzardo Associate Professor Of Medicine; Deputy Director Of Emerging Pathogens Institute mike.lauzardo@medicine.ufl.edu
Marie N Séraphin Marie N Séraphin Assistant Professor nancy.seraphin@medicine.ufl.edu

Wastewater-based Epidemiology

Name Title Email
Joseph H Bisesi Joseph H Bisesi Associate Chair; Associate Professor & PhD Program Director jbisesi@phhp.ufl.edu
Anthony T Maurelli Anthony T Maurelli Professor amaurelli@phhp.ufl.edu
Tara Sabo-Attwood Tara Sabo-Attwood Professor And Chair sabo@phhp.ufl.edu

Zika

Name Title Email
John Lednicky John Lednicky Research Professor jlednicky@phhp.ufl.edu
J. Glenn Morris J. Glenn Morris Director, Emerging Pathogens Institute jgmorris@epi.ufl.edu
Sadie J Ryan Sadie J Ryan Associate Professor Of Medical Geography sjryan@ufl.edu

Additional Resource

People sit in an auditorium to listen to a speaker.

Can't find an expert?

UF Experts Center

Visit the UF Experts Center for a full list of University of Florida experts.